Grupp Laboratory for Advanced Cancer Treatments



Subscribe to be notified of changes or updates to this page.

1 + 12 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.

Researchers in the Grupp Lab are focused on developing new molecular-based targeted cancer treatments and cell-based immunotherapies to treat leukemia and solid tumors. The ultimate goal of the work conducted in this laboratory is to identify and develop advanced cancer treatments that are less toxic than existing therapies and to treat children with high-risk malignancies.

Previous studies in the Grupp Laboratory that focused on the genetics and unique characteristics of pediatric neuroblastomas led to the development of a pioneering treatment for high-risk neuroblastoma called tandem treatment. This treatment consists of sequential courses of high-dose chemotherapy coupled with stem cell transplants given six weeks apart. A nationalized randomized Phase III clinical trial has been completed to determine if the tandem transplant protocol will replace the existing standard of care for high-risk pediatric neuroblastomas.

Ongoing studies in the Grupp Lab are evaluating the use of chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) T-cell immunotherapy to treat children with high-risk acute lymphoblastic leukemia (ALL). Results from a pilot clinical study demonstrated that treatment of children or adults with treatment refractory or relapsed ALL with CART19 cells (CD19) resulted in complete remission rates of 90% and durable remission for up to 24 months.

Learn More

Cornerstone Blog
In this Q&A, Stephan Grupp, MD, PhD, discusses his experience delivering CAR T-cell therapy to the first pediatric patient, Emily Whitehead.
Cornerstone Blog
The Cell and Gene Therapy Lab at CHOP has been approved for a phased expansion project that will allow them to keep up with the pace of discovery in a rapidly changing field.
Cornerstone Blog
Join us in congratulating cell and gene therapy experts Beverly Davidson, PhD, and Stephan Grupp, MD, PhD, newly elected to the National Academy of Medicine.