Awards for Outstanding Presentations Announced at 2010 CHOP Research Poster Day


At the 20th annual CHOP Research Poster Day, a celebration of innovative research and scientific discovery, more than 120 researchers in training displayed poster presentations representing the groundbreaking research undertaken throughout Children’s Hospital. Held in Abramson Research Center on Feb. 24, the event demonstrated CHOP Research’s unique position to celebrate the past and build the future of research.

This event was made possible by the generous support of Mrs. Klaus Hummeler, wife of the late Dr. Klaus Hummeler, who served as the first director of the Research Institute at Children’s Hospital; CHOP Research Institute administration; and corporate sponsors.

CHOP Research awarded prizes to the following investigators for their outstanding presentations in laboratory-based and patient-oriented research.

Patient-Oriented Research Track
Robert Avery, Division of Neurology
Uptal Bhalala, Division of Critical Care Medicine
Christopher Bonafide, Division of General Pediatrics
Ronnie Collins, Division of Cardiology
Donna Goff, Division of Cardiology
Soma Jyonouchi, Division of Allergy and Immunology
Javier Lasa, Division of Cardiology
Andrew McInnes, Division of Critical Care Medicine
Matthew O’Connor, Division of Cardiology
Swaroop Pinto, Division of Pulmonary Medicine
Homaira Rahimi, Division of Rheumatology
Eric Shelov, Division of General Pediatrics
Lakshimi Srinivasan, Division of Neonatology
Deepika Thacker, Division of Cardiology
Jason Williams, Division of Clinical Pharmacology

Laboratory-Based Research Track
Hamid Bassiri, Division of Infectious Disease
Xin Cheng, Division of Hematology
Shuang Cui, Division of Gastroenterology, Hepatology, and Nutrition
Davide Elletto, Division of Cell Pathology
Nick Hand, Division of Gastroenterology, Hepatology, and Nutrition
Li Changhong, Division of Endocrinology
Patrick Mayes, Division of Oncology
Ashley Mentlik, Division of Allergy and Immunology
John Meshki, Division of Allergy and Immunology
Marta Rowh, Division of Cancer Pathobiology
Jessica Roybal, Division of General, Thoracic, and Fetal Surgery
Jiangfang Wang, Division of Rheumatology
Susan Wood, Division of Stress Neurobiology
Jingxuan Liu, Division of Developmental Biology
Joseph Briggs, Division of Cancer Pathobiology

For questions about CHOP Research Poster Day, please contact the Office of Responsible Research Training at