Hospital Investigators Recognized at 2009 CHOP Research Poster Day


On Feb. 25, more than 160 researchers in training shared their exciting discoveries at the 2009 CHOP Research Poster Day. Poster presentations representing the groundbreaking research undertaken throughout Children’s Hospital were on display in the atrium, hallways, and conference center areas of the Abramson Research Center.

This event was made possible by the generous support of Mrs. Klaus Hummeler, wife of the late Dr. Klaus Hummeler, who served as the first director of the Stokes Institute; our corporate sponsors; and Stokes Institute administration.

Stokes Institute awarded prizes to the following investigators for their outstanding presentations in laboratory-based and patient-oriented research:

Laboratory-based Research
Eric Alexander – Gastroenterology, Hepatology, and Nutrition
Kris Bosse – Oncology
Brenna Brady – Cell Pathology
Jillian Brechbiel – Developmental Biology
Esteban Carrizosa – Cell Pathology
Shuang Cui – Gastroenterology, Hepatology, and Nutrition
Aiping Du – Developmental Biology
Todd Heaton – General, Thoracic, and Fetal Surgery
Benjamin Herdich – General, Thoracic, and Fetal Surgery
Anaju Khan – Hematology
Diana Lim – Gastroenterology, Hepatology, and Nutrition
Zhengyu Ma – Rheumatology
Demetri Merianos – General, Thoracic, and Fetal Surgery
Kunal Patel – Infectious Disease
Robert Redden – General, Thoracic, and Fetal Surgery
Marta Rowh – Cell Pathology
Keri Sanborn – Allergy and Immunology
Angela Sievert – Oncology
Jeremy Traas – General, Thoracic, and Fetal Surgery
Masako Ueda – Hematology

Patient-oriented Research
Jennifer Accardo – Pulmonary Medicine
Christina Bales – Gastroenterology, Hepatology, and Nutrition
Jason Caboot – Pulmonary Medicine
R. Thomas Collins II – Cardiology
Laura Conlin – Human Genetics
Sara DeMauro – Neonatology
Erika Dennis – Neonatology
Andrew Glatz – Cardiology
Ursula Guillen – Neonatology
Muhammad Yazid Jalaludin – Endocrinology
Melissa Leyva-Vega – Gastroenterology, Hepatology, and
Xia Li – Human Genetics
Andrew Meyer – Neonatology
Timothy O’Meara – Infectious Disease
Joanna Opalinska – Hematology
Kai Wang – Human Genetics
Andrew Wood – Oncology
Clyde Wright – Neonatology
Li Ye – Allergy and Immunology
Robert Zemble – Allergy and Immunology